Rad Reading-April

During the month of April I read a book called My Life With The Walter Boys. This book was written by Ali Novak and is a realistic fiction story about a girl named Jackie. Jackie is from New York, her parents are very wealthy, and busy, her sister is her role model and one of her best friends. When Jackie is six-teen her entire family dies in a tragic accident, causing her to move in with the Walter family. This family is very different than anything that Jackie is used to, they live on a farm in Colorado, hangout a lot together, go to public school, and have twelve sons. In the beginning moving in with this family is hard because she is still grieving over the death of her loved ones and because she doesn’t know how to fit in with the family yet. Jackie try’s to focus on her grades and making her family proud. But being surrounded by all of these so called “Greek-god-level hot boy” gets in the way, and her focuses change.

My Life With The Walter Boys Is now my favorite book that I’ve ever read. Usually I don’t want to read, but while reading this book you could not get me to stop. I enjoyed it so much and I wish there was a second one because the plot line was so good and it was left off with unfinished details. I loved this book so much because there was never a dull moment for Jackie. Something was always going on no matter if it was good or bad. At parts I felt bad for her because she was in the middle of so many problems, but at the same time I wish that I was her. This book will probably be one that I read over and over again.

My favorite character was Nathen for so many reasons, but for the most part just for being loyal to Jackie, and loving her like she was one of his siblings. Nathen was Jackie’s best friend in the family, he loved to play music and run with Jackie in the morning. Not only that but he also was always right by her side at all the right moments, and he alway help her work through her problems. One of my favorite quote that he said was on page 234. “‘ I’m not an idiot, jackie,’ he said, his voice edged with amusement. ‘I know both of my brothers well enough to have to put two and two together, when I heard the stories you did absolutely nothing wrong.’” This is my favorite quote because it shows just how much he cares about her and that he’s trying to make her feel better.

My favorite quote was on page 354. “‘Katherine, this—this is the best surprise anyone has given to me,’ I said, barely able to get my words out. My hands were trembling as I pulled her into a hug. There was nothing I could say to truly show her what this –– having a family again — meant to me.” This quote warmed my heart because it just shows how important Katherine has become to Jackie and how much Katherine loves Jackie. Because even though Katherine will never replace her mom she want Jackie to know that she is apart of the family and has made a positive impact on them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *